Try The World Box: France

My parents got the best birthday gift for me…a subscription to Try The World, a bi-monthly box filled with culinary goodies from allover the world. While the actual box was for Japan, I got the France box as a bonus and it absolutely didn’t disappoint. I was able to take most of the products from the box and incorporate them into the easy three-course meal you see below. Read on for the recipes, and a video of the unboxing at the very end. (Which is kind of silly and something I’ve never done before, but I was having a good hair day.) If you’d like a code for $15 off of your subscription, please email me at malindakay@ymail.com and I’ll get it right to you!
TTW3

TryTheWorldappThe first course is kind of complicated so try to keep up! You’ll need a wedge of Brie cheese, a big smear of the Peach-Apricot Jam, and a crusty baguette as the vehicle for getting the French goodness into your face.

TryTheWorldmain

This easy dish preps in 5 minutes and requires almost no clean up.

Chicken Paillards with Whole-Grain Mustard and Sea-Salted Roasted Tomatoes
1/2 cup olive oil, plus more for covered the tomatoes
2 tablespoons whole grain mustard
3 garlic cloves, peeled and diced
A splash of apple cider vinegar
A couple pinches of sea salt, plus more for the tomatoes
2 chicken paillards (a chicken breast cut open like a butterfly)
1/3 cup of bread crumbs (make some from stale bread by whizzing them in the food processor)
3 or 4 tomatoes, quartered
Fresh chives, chopped

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees.
Combine the first 5 ingredients in a shallow baking dish; gently stir with a spoon until it comes together.
Add the chicken and coat with the mustard mixture.
Allow to marinate for 10-15 minutes.
Sprinkle the bread crumbs evenly across the top.
Add the tomatoes quarters; brush with olive oil and sprinkle with sea salt
Bake at 450 degrees for approximately 15-20 minutes, until cooked through.
Garnish with fresh chopped chives.

trytheworlddessert

If you watch the Unboxing video below, you’ll see that the lavender honey was the product I was most excited about, and it was as great as I thought it would be. To make this, I simply softened some vanilla ice cream and added the honey. Be sure to add the honey in a slow, thin stream or else the ice cream will harden it into a lump. After mixing the two ingredients thoroughly, pop it back in the freezer to firm. If you don’t want to wait, I’m sure it would be just as delicious drizzled on top! Since the Palet shortbread cookies were a little crumbled upon arrival at my front door, I decided to just crumble them a little more and eat them as a topping.

The only items I didn’t use were the tea and butter caramels, but only because they stand on their own! Follow along with me on Instagram for a sneak peek into the Japan box that will be here soon! And don’t forget to email me at malindakay@ymail.com for $15 off!

Leave a Comment!

